The Chancellor's Office Curriculum Inventory (COCI) System

COCI Overview

The Chancellor's Office Curriculum Inventory (COCI) serves as the centralized database of all California Community Colleges curricula.

Project Overview

The CCCTC is responsible for the development and support of the COCI system that is to replace the current, Governet application in use as a result of Governet's contract ending in June 2017. The COCI application is the system  by which the Chancellor's Office is able assign a Course Control Number to courses and programs offered by Colleges. The CCCTC originally engaged with the Chancellor's Office in 2015 and software development began in earnest in March of 2016. 

The goal for the initial release is to have a system that includes the minimum features needed to safely and responsibly take over processing course and program submissions from the software application currently used. In some areas, this ay mean a net reduction in the number of available features. The initial release also requires an underlying database structure that is secure and able to scale over time to include new fields and to integrate with other state applications and/or applications uses locally by the colleges. The release will be considered a success when the following product driven outcomes are met:

  1. Data is migrated from old to new system without changes to status or lost information.
  2. There is a net decrease in the amount of courses and programs that require manual approval.
  3. There is a net decrease in the time from submission to approved for courses and programs.

EPI Support

The Chancellor's Office Curriculum Inventory system supports the Educaiton Planning Initiative as the list of approved courses and programs currently or previously made available through the California Community Colleges.  These data are leveraged by EPI in a variety of ways, including in the production of Ed Plans, within career and program guidance, and other applications within MyPath.  


Project Stakeholders

CCCCO

COCIAC

COCI Vendor Integration Workgroup

Pilot Colleges 

Project Timeline 

COCI Project timeline 2016/2017

Product Design Support Materials

Course Data Dictionary

Programs Data Dictionary

Course Workflow

Program Workflow

MVP Product Roadmap

Post-MVP Features 

General Support Materials

/wiki/spaces/CAT/pages/172132640

User Guide(s) and Training Materials

Admin Guide(s) and Training Materials

End User Support

Product Feedback

Project Team

NameRoleContact

Jackie Escajeda

Project Owner CCCCO

jescajeda@cccco.edu

Raul ArambulaProject Liaison CCCCOrarambula@cccco.edu 

David Garcia

Project Liaison CCCCO - Tier 1 support

dgarcia@cccco.edu

Craig Rutan

COCIAC Co-Chair

rutan_craig@sccollege.edu

Joanna Schilling

COCIAC Co-Chair

jschilling@riohondo.edu

Mark Cohen

Product Manager CCCTC

Mcohen@ccctechcenter.org

Rachel Stamm

Program Manager CCCTC

rstamm@ccctechcenter.org

Pamela ShawProject Manager CCCTCpshaw@ccctechcenter.org 


5C Subcommittee

NameContactNotes
Craig Rutanrutan_craig@sccollege.edu
Virginia Guleffguleffvi@butte.edu
Jackie Escajedajescajeda@cccco.edu
Raul Arambulararambula@cccco.edu
Chantee Guineycguiney@cccco.edu
Kirsten Corbinkcorbin@cccco.edu
Erik Shearereshearer@napavalley.edu
Marilyn Perryperrym@scc.losrios.edu
Nili Kirschnernkirschn@yccd.edu
Cheryl Aschenbachcaschenbach@lassencollege.edu

COCI Testers

NameContact
NotesTesting Participant
Raul Arambulararambula@cccco.eduCCCCOTesting for Reviewer Role, using Pilot Reviewer Credentials.1.6
David Garciadgarcia@cccco.eduCCCCOTesting for Reviewer Role, using Pilot Reviewer Credentials.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Eric Nelsonenelson@cccco.eduCCCCOTesting for Reviewer Role, using Pilot Reviewer Credentials.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Kevin Olsonkolson@cccco.eduCCCCOTesting for Reviewer Role, using Pilot Reviewer Credentials.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Chantée Guineycguiney@cccco.eduCCCCOTesting for Reviewer Role, using Pilot Reviewer Credentials.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Patti Blankpblank@cccco.edu CCCCOTesting for Reviewer Role, using Pilot Reviewer Credentials.1.6
Shelly Hessshess@sdccd.eduSan Diego DistrictTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.5, 1.6
Dixie Krimmdixie.krimm@imperial.eduImperial ValleyTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Sharon Awadsharon.awad@chaffey.eduChaffeyTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Darla Ramirezdmramirez@citruscollege.eduCitrusTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.5, 1.6, 1.7
Irena Zugiczugic_irena@smc.eduSanta MonicaTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.6
Marilyn Perryperrym@scc.losrios.eduSac CityTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.6, 1.7
Nili Kirschnernkirschn@yccd.eduWoodlandTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.7
Heather Townsendtownsendh@mjc.eduModestoTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.6, 1.7
Kevyn MontanoMontank@arc.losrios.eduAmerican RiverTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.6, 1.7
Kaylene Thomaskmthomas3@sbcc.eduSanta BarbaraTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.-
Reyes VazquezVazquez_Reyes@sccollege.eduSanta AnaTesting for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.7
Nancy Traynorntraynor@glendale.eduGlendale Testing for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.-
Katherine Rhynokrhyno@napavalley.eduNapa Valley Testing for Submitter Role, using Pilot College Submitter Cred.1.7


COCI Testing 

ReleaseTesting EnvironmentTesting DatesResourcesNotes
1.5Pilot9/20/17 -
9/22/17
Release 1.5 Test Cases, Results, and AnalysisAfter testing window, results were reviewed on 9/25 and 9/26 with Chancellor's Office to obtain Go/No Go for 1.5 Release to Production.  Result was additional tickets were created for new issues reported through testing, and communication of said issues, and workarounds documented with the Chancellor's Office for Release 1.5 on 09/29/2017.
COCI 1.5 Release Notes
1.6Pilot10/25/17 - 10/30/17Release 1.6 Test Cases, Results and Analysis

After testing window, additional tickets were created for related issues or enhancement requests discovered through testing, and Known Issues documented for Production Release 1.6, after "Go" from the Chancellor's Office.  Production Release 1.6 occurred on 11/01/2017.
COCI 1.6 Release Notes

1.7Pilot12/12/17 -
12/13/17
Release 1.7 Test Cases, Results and AnalysisAfter testing window, additional tickets were created for related issues or enhancement requests discovered through testing, and Known Issues documented for Production Release 1.7, after "Go" from the Chancellor's Office.  Production Release 1.7 occurred on 12/15/2017.
COCI 1.7 Release Notes
Known Issues